• Athletics
State runner-up! Varsity girls' tennis completes the season with an NCISAA trophy

The varsity girls' tennis team entered the 2022 season with high expectations, and they did not disappoint! The Hawks battled for every point in every match, showing their grit and determination throughout the season. With leadership from five seniors, the team rallied around each other and developed bonds off the court that paid dividends in competition. 

They entered the NICSAA playoffs with a 10-7 record that seeded them sixth in the 4A division and positioned them for a second round match against Rabun Gap. In a dominant 5-0 victory, they advanced to the quarterfinal and faced third-seeded Saint Mary's School in Raleigh. Doubles duos Mayes Fisher and Eleanor Poole, and Camille Darwich and Kate Hampton Haynie notched wins to put the Hawks up 2-1. Freshman Naomi Randall, senior Mayes Fisher, and junior Kate Haynie secured the victory with three wins in singles play. Next, the Hawks traveled back to the Triangle to take on the second seed, Durham Academy. All three doubles duos won their matches, and Eleanor Poole and Kate Haynie sealed the deal with singles wins to give CLS a 5-0 victory and a fourth consecutive trip to the championship. 

There, the Hawks faced the number one seed and local rival, Charlotte Country Day. The teams agreed to play at a neutral site, and UNC Charlotte was a very generous and hospitable host as the Hawks and the Bucs battled for more than three hours. Camille Darwich and Kate Haynie won their doubles match, but it was an uphill struggle to make up the 2-1 differential in singles. All four singles players showed grit and composure, but ultimately Country Day prevailed. 

The runner-up finish earned Charlotte Latin 45 points in the Wells Fargo Cup and added another trophy to the girls' tennis collection. Congratulations to freshman Naomi Randall (far left) for earning 2nd Team All-Conference honors and to junior Moné Cary (second from left) for earning 1st Team All-Conference and NCISAA All-State recognition. We're proud of you, Hawks!

Click here to see more images from the NCISAA Championship. 

Moné Cary

Naomi Randall

Kate Hampton Haynie

Camille Darwich

Mayes Fisher

Eleanor Poole

Payton Desai