Latin Arts Association

"Booster for the Arts"

Latin Arts Association is proud of its role in supporting the tremendous momentum the arts are experiencing at Charlotte Latin School. LAA is the umbrella organization that supports, enhances and promotes the arts community at Latin. We provide both financial and impressive volunteer support to arts programs at Latin, including:

  • Choral and Instrumental Music
  • Creative Writing
  • Theater Arts
  • Visual Arts

Latin arts programs excel at regional and national levels as shown by:

  • Numerous superior ratings in Wind, Orchestra, and Choral Ensembles
  • Multiple Blumey Award nominations for Excellence in High School Musical Theater
  • Record-setting Gold and Silver Key Awards in the Scholastic Art and Creative Writing Awards competition

LAA membership supports a wide range of arts programs and projects in every grade and every division at Latin.
The following are some recent examples of LAA’s funding and volunteer support:

  • Workshops and visiting artists in theater, music, visual arts, creative writing and film
  • Lower School Musical and Grandparents’ Day
  • Middle School Music Consortium
  • Creation of Middle School arts-focused clubs
  • Upper School Visual Arts equipment and technology
  • Concordia art mobile installed in Admissions Lobby
  • Extraordinary instrument needs for LS, MS and US
  • Blue Review Creative Writing Magazine Coffee House
  • Entrance banners promoting arts events on campus
  • All School & Senior Art Shows at the Mint Museum and Spirit Square
  • Student recognition in all arts departments and year-end events

LAA Board Members, 2018–2019

President: Jan Johnson
First Vice President: Gigi Egge
Second Vice President: Patty Lambert
Secretary: Jennifer Youse
Treasurer: Leslie Wickham
Membership Director: Nancy Stenersen
Publicity Director: Kim Cobb

Friends of Music Chair: Sarah Warmath
Friends of Theater Arts Chair: Dorie de Armas, Melissa Witzel & Jennifer Youse
Friends of Visual Arts Chair: Kathleen Holtzman
Friends of Creative Writing Chair: Vivi Bechtler-Smith

Upper School At-Large
Shannon Acks
Mary Shumway
Harriet Stamatakos

Middle School At-Large

Renee Hobart
Lori Samii
Wendy Wasko

Lower School At-Large
Aileen Boltz
Sally Roper
Liz Tarumianz

Join LAA Today!

Grand Patron: $125
Grand Patrons receive priority seating for two
at the All School Musical

Patron: $50

Click here to Join LAA!

The New Idea: A Celebration of Visual Art

New Idea CoverSupport the arts through your purchase of The New Idea. This 260-page coffee able book is a masterpiece of student and alumni work dating back to 1987.

Order The New Idea

Artwork by Mallory Evans ’18